Arts & Culture, Featured

This Week in Music feat. Radiohead, OFWGKTA, Blink-182, Daft Punk, Wilco, and more

Radiohead/Atoms for Peace

Thom Yorke from the "King of Limbs" Television advertisement

Radiohead announced this week that they will launch a full-scale tour for 2012, while on BBC Radio 1 with Giles Peterson. In addition, Potishead member Clive Deamer may join the group as an auxiliary musician. No details as to dates and locations have yet surfaced, but Radiohead will play two concerts in NYC next week for The Colbert Report and Saturday Night Live. Thom Yorke of Radiohead also leaked details about his side project (Thom Yorke, Flea, Joey Waronker, and Nigel Godrich), Atoms for Peace’s, new LP, which is slated for release. Thom said the album has “really good energy”, but does not sure when it will drop. Check out Thom’s latest, “Twist” here:


No Doubt

90’s ska-punk quartet, No Doubt, has delayed their new album until 2012. The band told fans on their website, “Ideally our new record would be coming out this year, but it’s just not ready yet… This collection of songs means everything to us and our only priority right now is to make sure it’s the best album we can possibly make. There is still more work for us to do.” They announced that they have collaborated with Major Lazer and producer, Spike Stent, who has worked with Madonna and Depeche Mode. This would be the group’s first full LP since Rock Steady (2001).



Blink-182 newest LP: “Neighborhoods”

Blink-182 finished their sixth album, entitled Neighborhoods, which will be released to stores Spetember 27th. The American pop-punk trio reunited after a four-year hiatus, during which each of the members explored separate side projects; however recent tragedies (death of DJ AM and long-time Blink producer Jerry Finn) brought the group back together and motivated them to return to the recording studio. Singles include: “Up All Night” and “After Midnight”, both of which have received praise from fans and critics (Four stars from RollingStone).



RIP REM: Its the end of the band as we know it

R.I.P. R.E.M. The thirty year old alternative rock group, R.E.M., called it quits on September 21st via their website. “To you Fans and Friends: As R.E.M., and as lifelong friends and co-conspirators, we have decided to call it a day as a band. We walk away with a great sense of gratitude, of finality, and of astonishment at all we have accomplished. To anyone who ever felt touched by our music, our deepest thanks for listening.”


Das Racist

Parody hip-hop group, Das Racist, also dropped a new album earlier this month (9/13) via Greenhead Music, “Relax”. Because their sound resembles LMFAO, it is still very difficult to take these guys seriously. The group struck gold, when the viral track “Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell” hit the airwaves in 2010, but now the hip-hop trio, backed by a star-studded group of producers (Diplo, EI-P, Rostam of Vampire Weekend, and Francis Starlite of Yeasayer), has released their first LP.


Noel Gallagher

Ex-member of Oasis, Noel Gallagher, has comfirmed that he plans to release a new solo album, “Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds”, November 8th. Singles, “AKA… What a Life!” and “The Death of You and Me”, have already leaked and sound like old Coldplay. Gallagher mentioned that the Chemical Brothers might remix the album as well.



The Berlin-based electronic minimalist duo, Modeslektor, plan to release their third album, Monkeytown, September 27. The album took ten weeks to record and was produced without any outside help. The album features, Thom Yorke, Anti-Pop Consortium, Apparat, Busdriver, Gordon Boeger, Miss Platnum, Otto Von Schirach, PVT, Sascha Ring, and Siriusmo. Listen to the full-length album before it releases here:


Daft Punk

The legendary French electronic team, Daft Punk, uncovered a new B-side from 1994 entitled “Drive” on September 19th. The track is a banger featuring fuzzy vocals, buzzing synths, scratching snares, and fat bass. Listen to it via Soma Records’ youtube:


Odd Future: Domo Genesis

Odd Future’s Domo Genesis dropped his new mixtape, Under the Influence, yesterday (September 20th) at 4:20 PST (of course…). It’s his first release since his debut-LP, Rolling Papers. It features members of the OFWGKTA gang, Remy Banks, Ace, and a hilarious Pokemon theme cover to finish it off. Download it for free of the OFWGKTA website by clicking the center image:



The Whole Love, Wilco’s eighth studio album, is set to drop September 27. Although sad, their latest is a return to what many call Wilco’s glory days (Yankee Hotel Foxtrot/ A Ghost is Born). Sonically, the album is much more adventurous than their last, Wilco (The Album), which was a collection of “it’s all good” country-folk-pop jams. According to Entertainment Weekly, The Whole Love makes “noise-pop exciting again, perhaps because the pop part doesn’t come easy [for Wilco]”. Much like the Ying and Yang of Asian philosophy, Wilco’s newest recognizes the importance of contrast: sadness ultimately brings happiness.


One Comment

  1. Hi there, simply become aware of your blog via Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I?ll be grateful should you proceed this in future. Lots of other people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *